Skip to main content

Opioids and Surgery: Pain Management and Best Practices

Wed, 3/15/2023 at 11:00 am - Wed, 3/15/2023 at 12:00 pm (MST)

Join Comagine Health for a learning opportunity addressing opioid best practices and pain management. This learning opportunity is for primary care providers, pain management providers, surgical teams, substance use treatment professionals, anesthesiology teams and any providers interested in opioid best practices. 

After this Webinar, participants will be able to: 

  • Apply the principles outlined during the presentation to implement a patient-centered approach to opioid prescribing.  
  • Develop procedures to reduce the supply of excess opioids.  
  • Talk to patients about opioid risks and co-prescribe naloxone.   
  • Understand outpatient management of patients with complex pain and opioid needs.
  • Describe how a new transitional pain clinic coordinates peri-operative care.
  • Implement best practices for patients with complex pain management needs.
  • Identify and address a suspected opioid use disorder.

Join us Wednesday, March 15th at:

  • 10 a.m. – 11 a.m. PT
  • 11 a.m. – 12 p.m. MT
  • 12 p.m. – 1 p.m. CT
  • 1 p.m. – 2 p.m. ET

About the Presenters

Dr. Lyen C. Huang, MD, MPH, FACS, FASCRS
Dr. Huang is an Assistant Professor of Surgery at the Spencer Fox Eccles School of Medicine and an Adjunct Assistant Professor of Family & Preventative Medicine and Population Health Sciences at the University of Utah. He specializes in complex and minimally invasive intestinal surgery.  His research has included peri-operative opioid stewardship, appropriate disposal of unused opioids, and patient recovery after surgery. He is a committee member for the University of Utah Health, Opioid Taskforce. 

Dr. Melissa Cheng, MD, MOH, MHS, FACOEM
Dr. Cheng is an Associate Professor at the University of Utah. She is a board-certified occupational medicine physician from the American Board of Preventive Medicine. Dr. Cheng is board-certified in addiction medicine.

Region
United States Idaho Nevada New Mexico Oregon Utah Washington